Bunbury scores in first start with KC

Teal Bunbury scored four minutes into his first start with the Kansas City Wizards in a U.S. Open Cup match on Tuesday evening. No, I don’t plan on writing a blog post every time Bunbury scores a goal, but the young striker is something of a great big hope to Canadian supporters so it’s nice to see his pro career begin on a high note.

I’ve not been able to find a video link to the goal, and seeing as there was no television coverage I’m not sure I’ll be able to, but it sounds like he was actually trying to put in a cross rather than a shot on goal. Whatever, if it helps build confidence, fantastic. He has come on as a second-half sub in K.C.’s first two MLS games.

Also of note also in this match was the Kansas City debut of Indian striker Sunil Chhetri. I made several snide remarks when I first read about this signing, mostly along the lines of: Yeah, that’ll get pulses racing in Kansas City, bringing in India’s biggest soccer star. But after seeing the number of readers from India commenting on the Wizards’ live blog of the match, I’m thinking that this kind of exposure can only be a good thing.

5 Responses to “Bunbury scores in first start with KC”

  1. Casual Soccer Fan Says:

    You didn’t think that an int’l signing that brings exposure in a country of 1 billion people, nevermind soccer-loving desi expats, was a good idea?

    Have a bit of vision, eh? I wish Toronto had even THOUGHT of trying to sign him – where do you think he’d rather play, in the US mid-west or in a SSS in an international city with vibrant Indian communities and Indian media? It could’ve generated ALOT of much-needed new buzz and optimism for us this season.

    Chhetri scored a hat-trick in his 1st KC reserve squad game, but was only OK in yesterday’s game. He’s got a learning curve for sure, but unless he’s a Vitti-like bust, this signing is clearly a winner.

    – Craig

    • Not to speak on Grant’s behalf, Craig, but I think that his snide remarks were more about the fact that Chhetri signed in a relatively non-cosmopolitan spot like KC, rather than being dismissive of Chhetri in general. In fact, Grant’s sitting next to me, let me ask him.

      “Had he signed in Toronto, it probably would have generated a lot of buzz.”

      I happen to agree with you and him; signing Chhetri would have been a massive coup for TFC, at least at it concerns increasing its presence in the city. Besides, as you say, he can’t be any worse than some of the bums MoJo has signed in the past three years.

  2. No worries at all. I wish I could blame a lack of clarity in my writing on the fact I often update this blog at 2:30am, but really it’s just me.

  3. Looking forward to seeing this Bunbury kid string us along before joining the American national team in three years! Go Teal!

Leave a Reply

