Summer trivia challenge winner

No drumroll needed here. Just five days later than I promised it, we reveal the winner of the Some Canadian Guys Summer Trivia Challenge …..

The answer is Saudi Arabia and the first correct answer we received was from loyal reader, Pompey Canuck. I’m sorry to have to do this to you Pompey, but if you pass on your mailing information, we will send you your “prize.” I must say I find it somewhat disturbing how quickly you were able to respond, leading me to believe this information was actually already in your head and you didn’t have to go searching for it.

According to my research, the Saudi Arabian national side have qualified for the World Cup four times – in 1994, 1998, 2002 and 2006 – and have never once brought a player not plying his trade in the aptly named 12-team Saudi Professional League. I’d make a snide comment about that maybe being the reason they’ve never advanced to the knockout round, but they have once, in 1994, when they were beaten by Sweden.

Thanks to everyone for sending in answers. If you can catch us in a mistake here, please feel free to publicly shame us.

Cheers.

8 Responses to “Summer trivia challenge winner”

  1. Our email is canadiansoccerguys@gmail.com, by the by.

  2. It's Called Football Says:

    Run more contests – I want a signed picture

  3. It's Called Football Says:

    Sweet – send one to my office – it will go up in my cubicle

    1 Concorde Gate – Suite 708

  4. When the did the USSR qualify with non-domestic players?

Leave a Reply

